Gardening

My dad and I planted a garden in my backyard for the first time ever. Jonathan and I live in his grandmother’s old home, and we had been told by lots of family that our backyard was the perfect “garden spot,” so Ted and I decided to give it a shot.

We started with the basics: turnips, collards, and mustard. Turns out, growing greens is fairly easy. From there, we planted radishes and rutabagas. The radishes proved to be both hearty and prolific; a few of them are the size of small apples and are still not pithy. The verdict is still out on the rutabagas due to the fact that we planted them to think, and I have neglected to thin them out.

From there, we decided to become adventurous with our growing by adding broccoli, cabbage, lettuce, and cauliflower to our inaugural garden.

This became...

...THIS

And this small cabbage plant became...

...THIS. Can I just say that I never realized how beautiful a cabbage plant truly is.

I was particularly proud of our broccoli plants. Turns out once you cut the first head off of the plant, it keeps multiplying, and I swear it taste better than what you buy in the grocery store.

Our radishes are out of control.

And this is what it is all about- a green salad that is full of vegetables grown on feet from your home.

I am looking forward to our next gardening endeavor. The almanac planting charts say mid February is the time to plant!

Leave a Reply

